1/2 marathon training – 6 weeks to go

I am preparing for my first 1/2 marathon on July 22.  Up to this point, I have officially run a 15K (9.36 mi) and a few 5K and 10K races.  Even with this running behind me, I am finding out there is always something new to learn.

My current issue: running in the hot weather with the sun beating down on me.  To further expand on that issue, I am getting overheated (headache and dizzy) and (ahem) getting an upset tummy, which I shouldn’t have to tell you is not pleasant when you are outside with not a port-a-potty in sight.

My training schedule has me running 2-3x per week with cross-training.  I did not choose to do the training plan that calls for running 5x per week, that is really too much for me. I am very concerned about getting injured so I am a big proponent of cross-training.   I do kick-boxing and boot camp classes 1x per week in addition to running.  I do a shorter run during the week and a longer run on the weekend.  It started with 2 miles as the shorter run and 5 miles as the longer run.  The shorter run hovers at 2, 3, or 4 miles; the longer run increased to 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13.1 (1/2 marathon) – make sense?

Last week I had my 1st outside long run (10 miles) to prepare for the 1/2 marathon in July in Chicago.  It will hot, even at the ungodly hour in the morning in which the race will be run.  Here are some important things I learned during this run:

  • You really have to be hydrated and prepped for a long run, especially in the heat.
  • Water is not enough.  You need Gatorade for electrolytes and hydration.
  • You need this during the run and these things are difficult to carry during a run.
  • Public water fountains are disgusting.  (My dogs drink out of these fountains.  And those are the cleaner species that utilize these contraptions).
  • Carrying a credit card is good to buy Gatorade and to possibly take a cab home if needed (although, thankfully, I did not need to do this).

I went on a medium run during the week (7 miles or so) and it was so hot I had to stop and walk for a bit and felt very nauseous.  Not good.  Then over the weekend, I went on my  long run and it was not pretty.  Let’s just say that if I didn’t find a bathroom on our lovely Chicago lakefront, there would have been a clean-up required on aisle 9.  Thankfully I did find one; I owe my dignity to the Burnham Harbor boat area public bathrooms.

This weekend I will be attempting another long run, my longest so far – about 12 miles.  I wish I had a better plan than just trying it again.  I will be hydrating much more before my run as well as ensuring I eat a good carb-filled meal the night before.  Hope this helps!

On the positive side, I have my route all mapped out on www.mapmyrun.com, which is awesome.  I like to use it to map out the run to determine the distance then I send it to my iPhone (there is an app for that, of course!).  Most of the time, though, I don’t want to lug my phone with me so I use my little iPod shuffle with the Nike Plus “Fitness” feature that has a GPS and I can upload it to Nike Plus and then MapMyRun to track my training.

Sorry if my tummy thing was TMI (too much information) but I was hoping to get some comments or feedback on any advice since this seems to be a unique issue (or maybe no one around me wants to admit it).  In any case, wish me luck, I will need it, as it will be about 95 degrees out on Saturday!  I will be drinking a lot of Gatorade for sure.  Also I will be mapping my route where there are plenty of convenience stores and public bathrooms……

Leave a Reply

